Skip to main content

Evidence to Improve Care


Care in the Community for Adults

Health Quality Ontario thanks the following individuals for their generous, voluntary contributions of time and expertise to help create this quality standard:

Steve Lurie (co-chair)
Executive Director, Canadian Mental Health Association, Toronto Branch, Adjunct Professor, Factor-Inwentash Faculty of Social Work, University of Toronto

Robert Zipursky (co-chair)
Professor, Department of Psychiatry, University of Toronto Psychiatrist, Centre for Addiction and Mental Health

Elgin Barrett
Lived Experience Advisor

Jonathan Bertram
Physician, Addictions Medicine, Centre for Addictions and Mental Health and Bowmanville Family Health Organization

Yvette Brook
Executive Director, Patient/Client and Family Council, Waypoint Centre for Mental Health Care

Patricia Cavanagh
Head, Outpatient Services, Complex Mental Illness, Centre for Addiction and Mental Health, Assistant Professor, Department of Psychiatry, University of Toronto

Krista DePooter
Occupational Therapist, Assertive Community Treatment, Providence Care

Michael Dunn
Director of Quality Improvement, Canadian Mental Health Association

Julia Fineczko
Lived Experience Advisor

Phillip Klassen
Vice-President, Medical Affairs, Ontario Shores Centre for Mental Health Sciences, Assistant Professor, Department of Psychiatry, University of Toronto

Terry Krupa
Professor, School of Rehabilitation Therapy, Queen’s University

Paul Kurdyak
Director, Health Outcomes and Performance Evaluation Research Unit, Centre for Addiction and Mental Health, Associate Professor, Department of Psychiatry, University of Toronto

Gord Langill
Director of Program and Services, Canadian Mental Health Association–Haliburton, Kawartha

Kwame McKenzie
Medical Director, Centre for Addiction and Mental Health, Chief Executive Officer, Wellesley Institute, Professor, Department of Psychiatry, University of Toronto

Kayla Nicholls
Manager, Programs, Schizophrenia Society of Ontario

Sheryl Pedersen
Lived Experience Advisor

Donna Pettey
Director of Operations, Canadian Mental Health Association Ottawa Branch

Carol Riddell-Elson
Lived Experience Advisor

Sylvain Roy
Neuropsychologist, Inner City Family Health

Abraham Rudnick
Professor of Psychiatry, Northern Ontario School of Medicine, Vice-President of Research and Chief of Psychiatry, Thunder Bay Regional Health Sciences Centre, Chief Scientist, Thunder Bay Regional Health Research Institute

Frank Sirotich
Director of Community Support, Research and Development, Canadian Mental Health Association

Stephanie Skopyk
Nurse Practitioner and Clinic Lead, Nurse Practitioner–Led Clinic, Canadian Mental Health Association Durham

Melinda Wall
Clinical Manager, Mental Health Outpatient Department, Peterborough Regional Health Centre

Let’s make our health system healthier

Join Our Patient, Family and Public Advisors Program

Patients, families and the public are central to improving health quality.

Man smiling

Sign up for our newsletter

Are you passionate about quality health care for all Ontarians? Stay in-the-know about our newest programs, reports and news.

Health Quality Connect - Health Quality Ontario's newsletter - on an iPad and a cell phone